Bridget Huff, Chair

Sarah Tresseder, Treasurer

Sarah is a current graduate student studying public health and policy. She is passionate about fighting for health equity and environmental justice in the state. During the 2018 election, she worked as a Finance Director for a state house race and was the political organizer for the Sierra Club.

Congressional Coordinators

District 1

Phoebe Hopps has mobilized tens of thousands of participants to attend the Women’s March on Washington, D.C. and the DTW airport protest. She is currently President & Founder of Women’s March Michigan 501c3, a board member of Woman2Woman in Northern Michigan and a Precinct Delegate in Antrim County.

District 2

Susan Fabrick is a family medicine doctor from Muskegon County. She has been active in the MDP and in local and state campaigns for the last two years. She is focused on making single-payer universal heathcare coverage a reality. She is working toward progressive values, democracy, transparency and inclusion within the MDP.

Ryan Jeanette

District 3

Mike Pruess is a Software Developer with an interest in technology. He is an Executive Member of the Kent Dems and member of Grand Rapids United Progressives Steering Committee. During the 2018 election cycle, Mike knocked on 100s of doors for Prop 2, local candidates and all state level candidates endorsed by the party through “Campaign One.” He believes that bold ideas are necessary to save the planet itself from the climate crisis.

Victoria Bowman is a member of the Kent County Progressive Caucus and Grand Rapids United Progressives. She formerly lived in Flint where she worked with the marginalized residents, first as a Head Start teacher, and then as a Family Independence Specialist. Her life work, caring about people, has continued, even though she is retired. Victoria cares about having diversity within the Democratic Party, as it strives to represent all people, providing them with fair and equitable elections for candidates who best represent their desire “for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”

District 4

Carly Hammond is a progressive who has an extensive community organizing and environmental justice background in Saginaw and Genessee counties. She worked with Michigan United in Flint to host community meetings, press conferences, and organize protests around the Water Crisis. In Saginaw, she worked to empower youth in politics and registered over 1,200 students to vote for the 2018 election.

District 5

Megan Kreger

Abel Delgado is a proud Latinx resident of Flint, Michigan and the 5th congressional district. As an activist and community organizer in the Flint Water Crisis, Abel has been a strong advocate for issues around water, gentrification, and state violence. For too long power has remained at the top, and he looks forward to bringing power back to the people.

District 6

Andrew George is currently the chair of the St. Joseph County Democratic Party. He thinks it’s time we put young, real progressives in important roles. Andrew would like to be a champion for what he thinks modern day progressives stand for, like single payer health care and getting money out of politics, amongst many other things.

Elanor Riley is a web developer who enjoys using technology to connect systems, information, and people more effectively. She volunteered extensively for the Bernie Sanders campaign in 2016 and helped to develop the on-boarding and volunteer organization systems for the Text for Bernie program. Elanor was recently elected as the Secretary of the Sixth District Democrats. She is looking forward to ensuring that we can use technology to spread the progressive message and connect more people!

District 7

Stan Goff is a transplanted southerner, a writer, and an activist. He was career military from January 1970 – February 1996, in Army Special Operations. He is now a Christian socialist, a father of four, a grandfather of eight, and a mediocre but enthusiastic fisherman, birder and gardener. He has worked on diverse campaigns regarding LGBTQ and women’s rights, CAFOs, Black farmers, union organizing, money-and-politics, and especially in the antiwar movement. He is a member of Veterans for Peace.

Julia Szybowicz

District 8

JD Torok

District 9

Brett Foreman

Colleen Parsons

District 10

Steven Haynes

District 11

Ahmed Wahby is a resident of Canton and a precinct delegate. He works for the University of Michigan, Michigan Medicine and has two Masters degrees in Economics and Informations Systems. Ahmed believes in progressive values and would like to see the Democratic Party becoming more progressive, especially on the issues of Healthcare for All, Education, Diversity and Inclusion, and the Justice System.

Jennifer Ormond

District 12

Joel Reyes-Klann is a homegrown Detroiter who recently graduated with an MSW from the University of Michigan School of Social Work. He is passionate about community-based development, social policy, and civic & environmental stewardship.

Desirae Simmons is a Ypsilanti resident who wants to help Michigan choose candidates in 2020 that will help us not only go blue, but also continue building the base for people-centered policies and action outside of electoral politics that center the voices of those most impacted by white supremacy, patriarchy, and environmental degradation.

District 13

Gabriela Santiago-Romero is an immigrant from Mexico and Southwest Detroit native. She has recently received her MSW focused on Social Policy and Evaluation concentrated on Community and Social Systems from the University of Michigan. She’s a community activist and organizer who has expansive experience working for Detroit nonprofits and local government. She’s currently an organizer with We The People of Michigan.

Frank Bartlo has been a long-time Progressive Independent who ā€“ inspired by the Bernie campaign and the possibility of leadership that truly represents people and living being first ā€“ has joined the Democratic Party to help the party to find its heart and soul. Frank is very passionate about music (plays drums, guitar, and bass, and is a recording engineer), sports and outdoor activities, health and fitness, critical thinking, philosophy, wise-ass humor, among many other passions; and considers himself a free thinker who does not even conform to commonly held notions of non-conformity.  Frank is a businessman who supports fair trade and the rights of workers, wants above all to get money out of politics and government; and is a passionate advocate for environmental protection and improvement, criminal justice reform (an Innocence Project supporter), genuine health care (as opposed to profit-driven sickness care), full living wage employment for those who are able and or working age and proper support for those who are not, freedom to do what one wants that does not cause undue harm to others or the environment, and equal rights and responsibilities for all.

District 14

Najanava Harvey-Quinn comes from a family of grassroots organizers as a unit they have been actively involved nationally with the fight for 15, equal rights and criminal justice reform. Najanava is a Democratic Precinct Delegate in district 239. In her free time she enjoys traveling, historical tours and political research.

Dennis Bryant is a long time precinct delegate, a member of UAW local 6000, community activist and a member of Good Jobs Now.

Contact Us